Why Blankets?

Cover Our People With Love

images-6

I was asked recently, “Why bother focusing on a blanket drive?” That is a very good question, for I could be asking for money donations to fill inmates commissary (while that is helpful, many of our incarcerated people would rather you take the time to send them letters), or asking for money towards building a compound retreat for our people or I could even ask for money donations to help fund my own bills. However, I prefer to help other people with things that can be of use to them, and I aim to make sure our people don’t feel alone and forgotten.

Blankets, do serve a purpose. Not only do they keep someone warm but more importantly, they serve as a comfort object. When I was going through my very undesirable childhood, blankets were always my “safe space”. To this day, there is nothing more comforting and relaxing after…

View original post 386 more words

Leave a Reply

