Centred By: PureIntensity

By: PureIntensity

 

“I showed this poem to a male friend, and he looked at me all concerned: ‘Is this a poem about death?’.

‘No’, I replied. ‘It is a poem about rebirth. About acknowledging that your world view has changed, and instead of fighting it, giving in and going with it’.”

 

Centred

 

I am scrambling…

On a rockface

closed in on all sides,

narrowing down into an abyss.

 

Water is streaming…

I struggle to hang on….

 

I am moments from falling.

My heart is pounding.

Then it dawns on me out of nowhere…

 

I take a breath,

close my eyes

and imagine that I am soaring.

Looking down from above,

the Earth rotating below me.

 

My perception shifts;

my geometry was flawed.

It is no abyss at all!

 

I release my hands and

I let gravity take hold.

Plunging head first through the rabbit hole,

straight to the other side.

 

I am injured.

I barely notice, it does not matter.

I look up and see before me

an unfamiliar

but exquisite

landscape.

2 thoughts on “Centred By: PureIntensity

Leave a Reply

